the contextual life

thoughts without borders

Advice to Authors: The Publicity Campaign

leave a comment »

By day, I am a book publicist for a large publishing house. I’ve been there for nearly ten years and find that each day is a learning experience. With a shifting landscape comes new obstacles as well as new opportunities. I find my job more exciting now than in any year past. While traditional media outlets appear to be shrinking, online communities are growing all the time. Willing authors have more space to be creative and more chances at getting their name—and book—into the public arena.

When the Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America approached me to write a post about book publicity, I knew exactly what I’d write. It’s what I do at the start of nearly every new campaign: the introductory email to an author.

What follows is an explanation of what it is a publicist does and how you, as an author, can play a part in your book’s publicity campaign. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. Feel free to come back and comment.

**************************

Subject: Hello from your Publicist

If the title of this post caught your eye, chances are you’ve sold a book to a publishing house and are now in the process of moving forward to publication date. Maybe you’re on your second or third novel and are looking for tips for the next time around. Whatever your interest may be, I hope to shed some light on what a book publicist does and how you, as an author, can play an active role in your book’s campaign. . . .

Read the rest here.

Written by Gabrielle

December 13, 2011 at 5:59 am

Posted in how-to

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

